Count your blessings;
Name them one by one. Count your blessings;
See what God hath done.
Count your blessings;
Name them one by one. Count your many blessings; See what God hath done.
          (Chorus of "Count Your Blessings")

"I will bless the Lord at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth."
                                                                                                                        Psalm 34:1

On my third reading of Ann Voskamp's One Thousand Gifts, I finally took her dare to record the blessings in my life. This week I reached 1,000. The simple act of writing down God's gifts helps me notice the small things, remember the big things, reflect on His kindness, and focus on gratefulness rather than complaining.

Here are 16 of the 1,000. If you want to see the full collection, you'll have to outlive me and come to my funeral. My journal will be displayed by my photos. : )

Ongoing opportunities for the girls to earn money
N
ew friends to pray for
E
ncouragement from a friend

T
he alto line to "Behold Our God"
Having a plan for supper before 4:00
O
pen windows
U
sing my whole board [in Scrabble] and getting a 50-point bonus
S
aturdays
A
full pantry
N
ot running out of gas on the turnpike
D
ough rising


G
oing to the gym with Janessa
I
ce cream
F
resh chocolate chip flaxseed muffins for breakfast
T
he squeeze of trials which makes me exercise faith and cling to Christ
S
eeing the Holy Spirit's activity in a meeting with a friend

Onward to 2,000!
8/14/2013 02:12:32 am

Thank you, Sherri, for the reminder to deliberately praise God for his bounteous gifts to us! I needed this today, so I'm thankful for the fact that blog posts stay up for a long time! : )

Reply



Leave a Reply.